Tomsk State University. Physical Department.
Laboratory of training physics experiment
[ Main page | Original | List-200 | Technology | History ]
Anomalous  Dispersion   Обратно  Далее  
Anomalous dispersion  Fig.1
Anomalous dispersion  Fig.2

A closed-circuit television was being used in certain technical colleges for lecture purposes. Frequently, projection device application is provided to be the only one tool for performance of conventional demonstrations which are difficult or impossible to be shown simultaneously to a great number of students because of insufficient luminosity or image sizes. We can show, for example, the light diffraction with Airy pattern, Brownian motion, and suchlike.

In 1973 using a television technique we managed to demonstrate anomalous dispersion in sodium vapor to the students' audience. We assembled a facility with the Jamin interferometer and a spectrograph. Two quartz tubes of 35 cm in length closed by plane-parallel glass windows were placed into the interferometer. In one of them there was metal sodium and the other one was intended for compensation. We used the second-order diffraction spectrum which provided a dispersion of about 0.4 nm/mm.

The classical approach of crossed dispersions is being demonstrated (Fig. 1). Therein the interference fringes are plotting down on the display the graphic chart of refraction index from the wave length in immediate proximity to spectral lines of sodium 589, 589.6 nm. As the temperature increases, so does the sodium vapor density that leads to free spectral range extension (Fig.2). The students are to observe such kind of smooth changes.


Anomalous dispersion modified
To estimate the path difference we suggested an obvious modified method with vertical system of interference fringes. Such system of interference fringes can be obtained in the region of the absorption line by the adjustment of the interferometer to infinitely broad fringes (Fig.3). The optical path difference in a half-wavelength corresponds to the left or right vertical dark fringe. Going nearer to the absorption line for the next dark fringe it increases by another one half-wavelength and so forth.

Rozhdestvenskii's  hooks
Rozhdestvenskii's hook method has been considered to be the most indubitable experiment adorning demonstrated in 1909 (Fig.4). At present this method has been the most accurate straightforward procedure for estimation of oscillator strength ratio in spectroscopy.
[ Main page | Original | List-200 | Technology | History ]

Физический факультет Томского государственного университета
Лаборатория учебного физического эксперимента
[ Главная страница | Оригинальные демонстрации | Список минимум | Методика | История ]
АНОМАЛЬНАЯ  ДИСПЕРСИЯ    Обратно   Далее   
Аномальная дисперсия рис.1
Аномальная дисперсия рис.2

Замкнутая телевизионная система использовалась в вузах для проекции лекционных опытов. Зачастую применение проекционных устройств оказывается единственным средством для представления традиционных демонстраций, которые трудно или невозможно продемонстрировать одновременно большому числу студентов из-за недостаточной яркости или размеров изображения. Например, дифракция света на малом диске с показом пятна Эйри, броуновское движение.

С помощью телевизионной техники в 1973 году нам удалось продемонстрировать для студенческой аудитории аномальную дисперсию в парах натрия. Была собрана установка с интерферометром Жамена и спектрографом. В интерферометр помещались две кварцевые трубки длиной 35 см, которые были закрыты плоскопараллельными пластинками. В одной помещался металлический натрий, а вторая предназначалась для компенсации. Для проекции спектра мы использовали второй дифракционный порядок, который обеспечивал разрешение около 0,4 нм/мм.

Демонстрируется классический метод скрещенных дисперсий (рис. 1). Здесь интерференционные полосы вычерчивают! на экране кривую зависимости показателя преломления от длины волны в непосредственной близости к линиям поглощения натрия 589,0 - 589,6 нм. С увеличением температуры повышается плотность паров натрия, что приводит к расширению области аномальной дисперсии (рис.2). Такие постепенные изменения должны наблюдать студенты.


Модифицированный метод
Для оценки разности хода нагляден предложенный нами модифицированный метод с вертикальной системой полос интерференции. Такая система полос интерференции получается в окрестности линии поглощения при настройке интерферометра на полосы «бесконечной ширины» (рис. 3). Самой крайней слева или справа вертикальной темной полосе соответствует оптическая разность хода в половину длины волны. Ближе к линии поглощения для следующей темной полосы она возрастает еще на половину длины волны и т. д.

Крюки Рождественского
Несомненным украшением этого эксперимента является «метод крюков» Д. С. Рождественского, предложенный им в 1909 году (рис. 4). И в наше время этот метод остается самым точным прямым методом по определению сил осцилляторов в спектроскопии.
[ Главная страница | Оригинальные демонстрации | Список минимум | Методика | История ]