Tomsk State University. Physical Department.
Laboratory of training physics experiment
[ Main page | Original | List-200 | Technology | History ]
Conoscope   for   demonstrations Обратно   Далее  
Earlier, to show an interference of polarized rays the special device by Duboscq were used. They included many optical elements, that resulted the beam aperture to be considerably restricted and, hence, the picture brightness and its sizes to be small.
We have designed very simple and convenient device - demonstration conoscope and have implanted it to practice. On a miniature optical bench there are three movable stands that may be fixed on it. On the first of them the incandescent bulb of 170 W is set up. Two others support polaroid-polarizer and polaroid-analyzer of diameter 8 cm. Both are easy to turn. Between them planar specimens are placed (quartz, aragonite, and polymer films).
There are no any focusing elements in this device, because to form the demonstrational conoscope picture is sufficient the divergent light beam from the lamp to pass through the birefringence specimen. The main advantage of this device is that all above elements may be put close to each other, furnishing large aperture angles up to 90 degrees.
. Conoscope pictures are projected either on a dull screen, placed at the distance of 1m., or on a big one in the lecture room. The conoscope makes it possible to demonstrate the picture of lemniscates family produced by a slice of mica. As a lamina of mica is thin, and the angle between optical axes is large, the conoscope picture may be as great as 3x3 m of a good brightness.
[ Main page | Original | List-200 | Technology | History ]

Физический факультет Томского государственного университета
Лаборатория учебного физического эксперимента
[ Главная страница | Оригинальные демонстрации | Список минимум | Методика | История ]
ДЕМОНСТРАЦИОННЫЙ   КОНОСКОП   Обратно   Далее   
Ранее для демонстрации интерференции поляризованных лучей применялись специальные приборы Дюбоска. Многочисленность оптических элементов этих приборов резко ограничивают апертуру световых пучков и кроме того значительно уменьшает размеры картины и ее освещенность.
Нами разработан и внедрен в демонстрационную практику весьма простой и удобный прибор – демонстрацонный коноскоп. На миниатюрной оптической скамье перемещаются и могут фиксироваться три кронштейна. На первом из них смонтирован источник света – кинолампа мощностью 170 ватт. На втором и третьем кронштейнах закреплены пленочные поляроид-поляризатор и поляроид-анализатор диаметром 8 см.
Эти поляроиды могут свободно поворачиваться. Между поляроидами помещаются препараты. Главное достоинство прибора заключается в том, что он позволяет все эти элементы приблизить вплотную друг к другу, что обеспечивает достижение больших апертурных углов вплоть до 90 градусов. Коноскопические картины проецируются либо на матовый экран, расположенный на расстоянии около 1 метра, либо на большой аудиторный экран.
С помощью коноскопа демонстрируется картина семейства лемнискат от слюды-мусковита. Поскольку лист слюды тонкий, а угол между оптическими осями велик, коноскопическая картина достигает на экране размеров 3х3 метра при хорошей освещенности.
Фотографии И. Клыкова    
[ Главная страница | Оригинальные демонстрации | Список минимум | Методика | История ]